Skip to main content

Prior Learning Assessment

Prior learning — sometimes referred to as experiential learning — is the knowledge and skills gained through work and life experience, including both formal and informal education and training.

CPTC understands that students may come to the college with skills and knowledge acquired through work experience, some of which could meet regular credit course requirements. Identifying credit for prior learning can be accomplished by an assessment process conducted by qualified faculty and may result in a course or several courses being posted to your transcript. 

Process to Receive Credit for Prior Learning 

  1. Arrange an assessment with your program faculty. This may be a graded exam, portfolio review, or another assessment method determined by faculty. 
  2. Pick up (or receive through e-mail) a Prior Learning Assessment Request Form available from the Enrollment Services Office:
             Enrollment Services (Building 17, Room 130) | 253-589-5666 | studentrecords@cptc.edu
  3. Pay the following nonrefundable fees for assessment services: $50.00 evaluation fee and $20.00 transcription fee for each course for which prior learning credit is requested.
  4. After the assessment, submit completed paperwork to your faculty member, who will forward it to the Enrollment Services department or to evaluator@cptc.edu. You will receive a confirmation in your student email inbox when your request has been processed.

Common Course Challenges

Course Faculty
ART& 100 Art Appreciation Camille Rendal | camille.rendal@cptc.edu 
BIO& 160, 175, 260, 241, and 242 Wendy Noffke | wendy.noffke@cptc.edu
CAS 115 Introduction to Computing Ryan Reygers | ryan.reygers@cptc.edu | 253-230-8091
College 102 College Success Kevin Kildun | kevin.kildun@cptc.edu | 253-589-5701
ENGL& 101 English Composition Dionna Faherty | dionna.faherty@cptc.edu | 253-589-5732
ENGL& 102 English Composition II Dionna Faherty | dionna.faherty@cptc.edu | 253-589-5732
ENGL& 235 Technical Writing Dionna Faherty | dionna.faherty@cptc.edu | 253-589-5732
HUM& 101 Introduction to Humanities Camille Rendal | camille.rendal@cptc.edu 
NUTR& 101 Nutrition Patricia Scott | patricia.scott@cptc.edu | 253-589-6059
MAT 099 Intermediate Algebra Dion Alexander | dion.alexander@cptc.edu | 253-589-5722
MAT 103 Business Math LaVerta Schmeling | laverta.schmeling@cptc.edu | 253-589-5580
MAT 105 Math for Industrial Professionals Dion Alexander | dion.alexander@cptc.edu | 253-589-5722
PSYC& 100 General Psychology Tracy Rose-Pennisi | tracy.pennisi@cptc.edu | 253-589-6047

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Restrictions

Current accreditation standards require that no more than 25% of the credits applied toward degrees or certificates may be credits awarded for portfolio review.
Course challenges may not be retaken for a better score.
For more information, please contact the Credentials & Student Completion Specialist, by email or phone: evaluator@cptc.edu or 253-589-6003.

INFO SESSIONS

APPLY

FINANCIAL AID