Tuition for CPTC is calculated based on your residency status. CPTC follows state-regulated criteria for residency status and the documents needed to verify residency status. The following is a summary of residency requirements in Washington State. Please visit Access Washington for official information on state residency requirements.
If you’re having trouble understanding the residency requirements, the State of Washington recommends checking out the UW pages on establishing residency.
To qualify as a resident student, state law requires that you establish a bona fide domicile in the state of Washington for a period of one year, for purposes other than educational, prior to the start of the semester or quarter for which you intend to register. You also have to be able to prove that you are a U.S. Citizen, have a U.S. permanent-resident card or have a qualifying visa.
The advice from the state Attorney General is that an individual must do everything a Washington resident is required to do:
Once the individual is in full compliance with all of Washington’s requirements for residency, then s/he, as of that final date of compliance, has established domicile. Once domicile is established, the student is eligible for in-state tuition 12 months from the date of arrival if all legal ties were in place within 30 days. This is because the Washington statute says that domicile must be in existence for one year immediately prior to the first day of the quarter for which the student wants to be classified as a resident.
Examples of other factors that may help students establish proof of domicile include: disposition of property in the former state of residence, relocation of household members, participation in local community organizations, and generally becoming involved in activities that will help prove their intent to make Washington their official place of residence.
According to RCW 28B.15.012, the term ‘resident student’ shall mean:
“Who has had a domicile in the state of Washington for the period of one year immediately prior to the time of commencement of the first day of the semester or quarter for which the student has registered at any institution and has in fact established a bona fide domicile in this state primarily for purposes other than educational.”
To qualify as an independent resident student, you cannot be claimed as a dependent on anyone’s income tax return, and you cannot have received funds from an agency that requires residency in another state.
For students age 24 or younger
To qualify as a resident financially dependent student, one or both of the student’s parents or legal guardians must have maintained a bona fide domicile in the state of Washington for at least one year immediately prior to commencement of the semester or quarter for which the student has registered at any institution. Your parent or legal guardian has to have claimed you as a dependent on their federal income tax return.
You and your parent or legal guardian need to submit the Residence Questionnaire Form. Students must provide picture ID and fill out the front of the form. The parent or legal guardian must fill out the back of the form and provide three of the following pieces of documentation from the previous calendar year to prove they have established a domicile in Washington:
All Washington residents who have attended an out-of-state college or university need to submit the Residence Questionnaire Form along with additional documentation:
You cannot qualify for residency if you—or your parent, if you’re financially dependent—have:
To apply for resident tuition as an active duty military member/National Guard member or as a member’s spouse or dependents, you must:
Effective June 12, 2014, veterans who separate from the military under honorable conditions after at least two years of service and enters an institution of higher education in Washington within one year of the date of separation AND meets at least one of the following conditions, may be eligible to pay resident tuition per Senate Bill 5318:
To apply for resident tuition as a veteran and have met at least one of the above conditions, you must:
If Washington is not your home of record, you must:
For members or dependents that are from Washington, but stationed in another state or overseas, students must:
A Washington law determines whether students can be considered residents of Washington eligible to pay in-state resident tuition rates at public institutions (RCW 28B.15.012). This law was revised in 2003 to allow certain students attending public colleges and universities to be eligible for resident student tuition rates. In 2014, Senate Bill 6523 - the Real Hope Act was passed. The state's financial aid law was amended so that these students are eligible to be considered for need-based state aid (State Need Grant) if they are attending either public or participating private colleges in Washington.
To qualify for resident status, students must complete the Washington Higher Education Residency Affidavit/Declaration/Certification if they have met the following conditions:
To apply for resident status and have met all conditions listed above, you must:
Incomplete and supporting documents will not be considered for review. Emailed or faxed forms will not be accepted. Student's failure to disclose and submit complete and accurate information and all required documents may result in denial or reversal of the student's resident classification.
Deadline: Forms and all supporting documentation must be submitted by the 30th calendar day for which the application is made. Documentation received after the 30th day will be considered for the following quarter. Students are not refunded for previous quarters attended prior to application for change of resident status.